Should Educators Blog?

to-blog-or-not-blog-1

Should Educators Blog?

By:  JasonItec

Blogs, by definition, are meant to be very informal and opinionated.  In a world where personal opinions are becoming less tolerated everyday (especially for people who work in the public sector), is it even safe for educators to blog?

I have kept up with some educational blogs over the years from some really brilliant people who I have really come to look up to.  Although, sometimes the nature of blogging allows for a little bit of “ranting,” and that can be dangerous.  Criticizing the wrong policies, people, or public institutions could get you in serious trouble in 2015.  Several recent blogs that I have read heavily criticized new school testing policy, state lawmakers, and the general direction of our educational system.  While criticizing someone or something that is hundreds of miles away (and in a different political party) has proven safe for the time being, what happens if a blog directly or indirectly criticizes a policy or position in their own district or own political party?  Who knows, but I know I wouldn’t want to find out.

My point is, I guess, is that if educators are going to blog, then the content should be kept on the upper levels of informality while keeping focus on advancing education as opposed to degrading it based on their personal opinions.  Blogging is a powerful tool, and I have learned a lot over the years from new lessons and technology ideas to public policy and educator standards.  But, I have also read some blogs that I would have been a little hesitant to put my name on as an educator.  Sometimes you do not know exactly where the line is until you have already crossed it.  So, keep blogging out there, but be careful what you say.  Words on the internet never go away, even long after opinions do.

Leave a comment